Adventure
 
Picture
There are many times when my life lately has felt like a fairy tale or a dream and last weekend was certainly one of those times.  I had the pleasure of attending a costume ball hosted by the British Chamber of Commerce with A Midsummer Night’s Dream theme!  Since I love dressing up, costumes, and Shakespeare; it was perfect for me.  The evening consisted of an auction, silent auction (one of the items was a Paul McCartney signed guitar!), several scenes from the Shakespeare play, wonderful food and drink and a costume contest.

I heard about the event through friends and knew one of the performers.  It was a wonderful excuse to dress up in whimsical outfits, eat, drink and be merry!

Anita, a friend and expat here in Shanghai designed some wonderful costume dresses which were reminiscent of Moulin Rouge but with more of a fairy flair.  We found a lovely dressmaker and went shopping for fabric in the fabric market and with a fitting and some tweaks we had some fabulous custom dresses with coordinating corsets.  After a trip to a local fake flower market and another to a costume shop for wings and wigs, we were set!

 
Picture
The day of the ball I worked all day and then made a mad dash for home to change, do my make-up and complete the transformation.  I did this remarkably quickly and then managed to change in about 30 minutes which was quite amazing.  Since the ball had already started, I decided to put on my corset in the taxi which is no easy feat but somehow I managed it!   I got quite a few stairs as I was trying to hail a cab.  I get looks enough when I am just wearing a t-shirt and jeans but now I was wearing a ball gown, wings, and a Marie Antoinette style wig with peacock feathers – not exactly an everyday sight in the local Shanghai district of Minhang!  It was especially funny to see people catch a glimpse of me and then do a double take.

So after putting on my corset in the taxi, I arrived at the ball just in time for dinner, drinks and the program.  Everyone looked amazing and the ballroom was filled with about 1000 revelers.  When the time for the costume contest arrived, our table was nominated for best costumes and we were called up on stage with two other best dressed table nominees.  The competition was fierce but we ended of losing to a table full of queen themed costumes (some of the queens on display included Michael Jackson and Elton John).  The other table consisted of a man with a horse’s head, and an almost nude glittery tattooed man.   We didn’t win but it was quite an honor to be called on stage and we got a fabulous photo as a result. 

There were also raffle drawings and while I didn’t win anything, two people at our table did and this is pretty incredible considering the number of people there!

After dinner there was a live band followed by a DJ and I thoroughly enjoyed dancing the rest of the night away.  As I caught a cab home, I felt a bit like Cinderella.  As a teacher, I wear plain clothes and have to be very practical but for one night at least, I had a night of pure fun and decadence.  The evening definitely had an air of magic.  I had the nicest cab driver I’ve ever had as my driver on the way home.  He practiced his English with me and was very sweet and when he dropped me off at my apartment, he didn’t even charge me the full fare!

It was a night I will never forget and now I know a great dress maker – so I can get started on my Halloween costume already! 
Picture
 
Christine
6/14/2010 04:44:48 am

What fun! It sounds like a great party. The part about putting on your corset in the taxi conjured up some images......It sounds like that would make a great scene in a movie.

Cheers!

Reply
10/9/2010 02:48:22 am

The blog is very complete and very helpful the pictures you used to understand, really amused me much, if I really like your blog!

Reply



Leave a Reply.