Adventure
 
Picture
I decided to write a blog post about Denver because I have been hanging out in Denver but also because it is such a cool place and a lot of people don’t realize it.  Coming back after being in China and also after my European Adventure last year – I have realized that Denver (and Colorado in general) is like a touch stone for me.  I love going other places but I love coming back too.  I think that for awhile anyway I will be coming and going from here because Denver is a special place.  A lot of people still think of it as a cow town so I thought I’d share some of the specific reasons that Denver is so cool.

Here are some nifty facts about Denver :

·         Denver gets over 300 days of Sunshine a years (this is amazing considering the ski industry is so big here and that there is still snow in the mountains in the heat of the summer).

·         It is one of the most educated cities in the nation with almost 36% of the population having a bachelor’s degree (It ranks in the top 20 of the country).

·         As I once heard comedian John Oliver say – we have least obese population in the USA; in other words Denverites are thin in an obese country and Colorado ties with Hawaii for the title of thinnest state in the country. Woo-hoo!

·         Denver is a mile-high.  Seriously that is high!  People come here to train for the Olympics because of that.

·         Denverites love their art and it shows – they have one of the highest rates of per capita funding for arts in the nation plus lots of cool art museums and galleries.  That cow I am riding - it is art.  Generally I don't recommend climbing art but in this case I made an exception.
Picture
Okay so those are some of the stats but there is also this cool energy about Denver.  There are still elements of the wild-west culture found here (the gold rush put Denver on the map so to speak) but it is also a very modern city that’s green and young.  Also we have some amazing natural resources around –our beautiful mountains and our adventure sports that come with it - amazing skiing, mountain climbing, hiking or mountain biking in your own back yard.

People here are friendly and will smile and say hello when you walk by.  I still remember a time when my cousins were visiting from California and some people walked by and said “hello and how are you?” and my sister and I responded and we had a short conversation.  Afterwards our cousins asked who they were and course we didn’t know them but it didn’t matter! 

Ok that should do it for my love-fest on Colorado but I am lucky to have grown up in such a great place.  Here is a photo of I took at Red Rocks – the outdoor amphitheatre in the mountains (U2 filmed their famous live Sunday Bloody Sunday video there).

 

 
Picture
 
Christine
9/2/2010 09:20:24 am

I enjoyed your last two blogs and got a kick out of the fact that I didn't read them till you were out of the country again. What up with that? That is kind of like you coming from China to go to a dragon festival in Denver. Go figure!

Denver us a cool place.

Cheers!

Reply



Leave a Reply.